Minutes August 3, 2019 Annual Meeting

Approved Minutes

East Okoboji Lakes Improvement Corporation

2019 Annual Meeting

Dickinson County Nature Center at Kenue Park

Saturday, August 3, 2019 @ 9:00 AM

Board Members Present: Bill Maas, Lois Clark, Terry Wilts, Bob Kelley, Jim Blum, Vern Schoeneman, Wendell Riley, John Salewske and Chuck Augustine.

Board Members Absent: Joel Farley, Steve Richards and Mike Maffin

Total attendance was 57 including the board.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 am by President Bill Maas at Dickinson County Nature Center at Kenue Park, Spirit Lake IA. Introduction of Board of Directors followed.

Adoption of Agenda

It was moved by Blum and seconded by Salewske to adopt the agenda with flexibility.  Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Moved by Augustine and seconded by Schoeneman to approve the August 4, 2018 Annual Meeting minutes. Motion carried.

Treasurer’ Report

Wilts reported a balance of $66,399.38 as of 8-2-2019.  Accounts Receivable of $12,515.63 from the Iowa DNR for 2019 pondweed removal.  Clark moved with second by Augustine to accept treasurer’s report.   Motion carried.

Membership Report

Secretary Wilts reported 253 responses to the membership/dues mailer to date with total proceeds of $15,310.00, an average of $61 per response. 104 new responses with renewals of 149.  Fundraising efforts to date very similar to past years results.


2019 Aquatic Management Plan

Wilts presented a review of the 2019 Aquatic Management Plan which included systemic treatment, mechanical harvesting, water monitoring with testing and drone multi-spectrum mapping.  Pondweed Working Group will be meeting regarding 2019 results and 2020 direction. A group question session followed with EOLIC member feedback.

28th St. Francis Sites Drainage Project

Wilts reviewed the EOLIC support and successful grant sponsorship towards this project. Project awaits further funding and EOLIC will continue to actively monitor progress.

By-Law Amendments/Procedural Changes

Maas reported the EOLIC Board of Directors recommendations for the following changes to the by-laws:

Amendment- Annual Meeting Date

Current: Annual Meeting to be held first Saturday of August

Proposed: Annual Meeting to be held first Saturday of June

Amendment- Number of Board Members

Current: EOLIC will consist of 12 board members

Proposed: EOLIC will consist of 9 board members

Procedural- Number of Board Meeting per year

Current: Board meets 9 times annually, March-November

Proposed: Board meets 7 times annually, April-October

Procedural- Types of Meetings

Current: Board meets in person

Proposed: Board could conduct meetings electronically or telephonically

Maas called for vote on by-law and procedural changes as recommended by the Board. Discussion, vote carried with Wilts voting nay.

Election of Directors

With the by-law change to move number of directors to 9, no election of directors necessary. Terms for remaining members to be set and staggered at September 2019 regular board meeting.


No reports from other lake protective associations.

EOLIC will have a booth at the Blue Water Festival on August 10, 2019.


Motion Clark, second Riley to adjourn Annual Meeting at 10:38 am, motion carried, meeting adjourned.  2020 Annual Meeting set for June 6, 2020, site to be determined.

Minutes submitted by Terry Wilts, Secretary