Minutes March 16, 2015

East Okoboji Lakes Improvement Corporation

Board of Directors Meeting

Monday, March 16, 2015 @7:00 PM

Board Members Present: Jim Blum, Bill Maas, Mike Maffin, Vern Schoeneman, Delmer Lee, Steve Richards and Bev Schumann

Board Members Absent: Gus Tallman, Bob Kelley, Wendell Riley, and Bonnie Simonson

Guests present: Jim Sholly (IGL Watershed Coordinator)

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 by President Bill Maas at the Orleans City Hall Council Chambers.

It was moved by Vern Schoeneman and seconded by Jim Blum to adopt the agenda with flexibility. Motion passed.

Moved by Jim Blum and seconded by Mike Maffin to approve the November 17, 2014 regular board meeting minutes. Motion passed.

Moved by Vern Schoeneman and seconded by Steve Richards to accept the December 31, 2014 Treasurer’s Report, showing a balance of $28433.50. Motion passed. Delmer reported a favorable response from the second mailing that he had done for memberships. He reported 21 new members had joined and the total revenue received in 2014 was $6771.00. Delmer mentioned that new ideas are needed for recruiting new members in order to increase our memberships.

Old Business

Storm water problems behind Francis Sites

No new information was presented about this existing condition.

Board Member Replacement

No action taken

New Business


Steve Richards reported that advertising spots on KUOO cost $9.00 per spot. Steve agreed to meet with the station and bring back to the board ideas to promote EOLIC to the public through radio media.

Jim Sholly asked for permission to work with the board to draft a letter to lakeshore owners on East Lake promoting assistance for lakeshore restoration. It was moved by Vern Schoeneman and seconded by Steve Richards to approve this project. Mike Maffin and Steve Richards agreed to work with Jim in drafting this letter to EOLIC members promoting this assistance.

Other issues, announcements, group sharing, etc

No new reports

Next Regular Meeting is scheduled for April 20, 2015 at 7:00 PM at Orleans City Hall


It was moved by Mike Maffin and seconded by Jim Blum to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 PM. Motion passed.

Minutes submitted by Bev Schumann, Secretary