Minutes October 19, 2015


East Okoboji Lakes Improvement Corporation

Board of Directors Meeting

Monday, Oct. 19, 2015 @7:00 PM

Board Members Present: Bill Maas, Gus Tallman, Bob Kelley, Mike Maffin, Jim Blum, Joel Farley, Vern Schoeneman, Bonnie Simonson and Bev Schumann

Board Members Absent: Terry Wilts, Wendell Riley, and Steve Richards

Guests present: None

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 by President Bill Maas at the Orleans City Hall Council Chambers.

Adoption of Agenda

It was moved by Bob Kelley and seconded by Vern Schoeneman to adopt the agenda with flexibility. Motion passed.

Approval of Minutes

Moved by Jim Blum and seconded by Gus Tallman to approve the September 2015 regular board meeting minutes. Motion passed.

Treasurer’ Report

It was moved by Mike Maffin and seconded by Vern Schoeneman to accept the Oct.19th treasurer’s report showing a balance of $32485.71. Motion passed. Joel reported that the checking account has been changed from an individual checking account to a non-profit account.

Old Business

28th Street and Francis Sites Drainage Issue

Jim Blum shared ideas and comments that he felt should be addressed in the RFP for the 28th Street and 255th Avenue Drainage.

Membership Report

Mike Maffin reported that the newly appointed membership committee had met and he shared various ideas that the committee felt could help membership in EOLIC grow. Because the board was very receptive to all of their ideas expressed, they will be meeting again to prioritize and expand their ideas for the next meeting.


Bill Maas reported that as soon as the Emergency Management Committee meets, he will be sharing the proposal that EOLIC has suggested for automatic limiting of speeds and distances in the event of high water or flooding in future years.

New Business

No new business

Other issues, announcements, group sharing, etc

Next Regular Meeting is scheduled for November 16th, 2015 at 7:00 PM at Orleans City Hall


It was moved by Gus Tallman and seconded by Bonnie Simonson to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 PM. Motion passed.

Minutes submitted by Bev Schumann, Secretary