Minutes August 1, 2015 Annual Meeting

Approved Minutes for the

East Okoboji Lakes Improvement Corporation – 2015 Annual Meeting

Dickinson County Nature Center

August 1st, 2015 @ 9:00 AM

1. Call to Order and Welcome-Maas

The meeting was called to order by the President, Bill Maas, at 9:04 A.M. with a total of 21 individuals present. Board members present: Jim Blum, Bob Kelley, Delmer Lee, Bill Maas, Mike Maffin, Wendell Riley, Vern Schoeneman, Bev Schumann.

Absent: Gus Tallman, Steve Richards, and Bonnie Simonson

2. Introduction of Board Members

Maas asked everyone present to introduce themselves.

3. Adoption of Agenda (with flexibility)

The agenda for the meeting was reviewed (with flexibility to add items).

4. Approval of the Minutes of the Annual Meeting August 2nd, 2014

It was moved by Wendell Riley, seconded by Mike Maffin to approve the minutes of the August 2nd, 2014 annual meeting. Motion passed.

5. Treasurer’s Report

Lee reported that the current assets are $27,901.45. It was moved by Bob Kelley, seconded by Vern Schoeneman to accept the treasurer’s report. Motion passed.

6. Program: John Wills–”Iowa Great Lakes Accomplishments”

John highly praised the work of protective associations and encouraged people who are not members to join. He discussed some of the projects that have been done to improve water quality in East Lake –Conroy Johnson pond, Marble and West Hottes Lakes, prairie strips, terraces that have been rebuilt and new ones added, Bio Cell on East 19th Street behind the Kum and Go, and the Bio Cell by Super 8 and Burger King. John explained that his job as Clean Water Alliance Coordinator entails communicating, educating, coordinating, and funding projects that will improve the water quality in the Iowa Great Lakes. He addressed the weed situation that the lake area is experiencing this year and said the DNR is discussing solutions to help with the problem but nothing concrete has been adopted yet. Funds are being solicited for the Okoboji Blue Water Festival in 2016. This will be a joint effort of the protective associations, businesses, organizations, and individuals dedicated to clean water.

7. Review/Report of Current Projects and Interests and Old Business

7a. Drainage Issues (City of Spirit Lake, Dickinson County, etc

This area involves 28th Street, between the High School and Middle School and goes into Francis Sites. Jim Blum explained that he and others had met recently with the Board of Supervisors to discuss establishing a drainage district for this area.

7b. Aquatic Vegetation

This was addressed by John Wills and although the problem has been discussed, guidance to this problem will be forth coming before next summer.

8. New Business

8a. Introduction of Announced Candidates

Maas introduced the board members whose three year terms have expired. They are: Bob Kelley, Delmer Lee, Wendell Riley, and Gus Tallman. He also mentioned that there is one other vacant spot on the board whose term would expire in 2016.

8b. Election of the Board

The following candidates were elected to the board by written ballot: Bob Kelley, Wendell Riley, Gus Tallman, Joel Farley, and Terry Wilts.

9. Adjournment

It was moved by John Salewske, seconded by Delmer Lee to adjourn the meeting at 11:15 A.M. Motion passed.

Next regular meeting of the Board of Directors: Monday, September 21st 2015, @ 7:00 P.M. @ Orleans City Hall

The 2016 annual EOLIC meeting will be on August 6th, 2016.

Minutes Submitted By:

Beverly Schumann, Secretary